27 Jan 2024

How we're building a life in Phuket as a remote working family

Six months ago we moved to Phuket.

I'm a remote freelancer, and launch random products from time to time.

My spouse works on building her education business.

Our 18 month old goes to a local international kindergarten, and stays with the nanny the other half of the day.

Our second one was born in a Phuket hospital 2 days ago.

It’s been eight months since we moved to Phuket and both started work fully remote.

We're building a life as a fully remote family. One step at a time.

The Good

Sunshine And Beach

A beach is a fantastic playground for a toddler. Our current favorite is Surin as it's close to our home, and easily accessible.

The weather is nice all year round. Between 25 and 35 degrees, with a minimum humidity of 70%.

There are nice houses (but they're difficult to find)

We rent a house in a gated community for 43,000 thb per month (1,219 usd). Prices seem to be rising due to a high influx of foreigners. The style of the house is nice though maintenance and quality of materials are poor. The gated community offers a relatively safe area for our 18-month old to stroll around, as cars don't drive too fast.

Most houses are adding a pool as this drives up the rental price with 20,000 thb or more. We prefer a house without a pool as it's safer with toddlers, but these become harder to find.

We're surrounded by a mix of western and Thai people, mostly families.

There are Multiple Co-workings

Most coworkings are on the south of the island. There was only one small one in the north (where we live), it closed recently and is now a hole in the ground. Homa, a real estate developer, open a combined housing and co-working project in the north recently, but their co-working is not open to outsiders as it's crowded with residents.

Full-time Nannies are Affordable